NEWS - December 2015 – Colorado Groundwater Issues, Denver, Colorado

The American Ground Water Trust’s Annual Colorado Groundwater Conference covered a variety of issues. Topics included:
Groundwater management strategies and the State Water Plan 
Recharge and storage potential in the Denver Basin Aquifer 
Water Rights: Are current augmentation requirements preventing injury? 
Is Colorado’s agribusiness growth limited by assured access to water? 
Is the state wasting water because of evaporation from shallow groundwater? 
Challenges in coping with groundwater draining from Colorado’s abandoned mines 
Legislator panel: water management legislative initiatives expected in 2016 session 
Assuring sustainable supply for metropolitan area and Front Range developments 
Community education for implementing water conservation and aquifer protection
Presenters included:
Amy Conklin, Board Member, Colorado Water Wise, Denver, CO
Kristin Maharg, Interim Director, Colorado Foundation for Water Education, Denver, CO  
John Stulp, Special Policy Advisor to the Governor for Water, Chairman of the IBCC, State of Colorado Water Conservation Board, Denver, CO 
Rick Marsicek, Director of Engineering, South Metro Water Supply Authority, Greenwood Village, CO 
Doug Kemper, Executive Director, Colorado Water Congress, Denver, CO
Daniel Ault, President and Victor deWolfe, Geological Engineer, Deere & Ault, Longmont, CO
Don Shawcroft, President, Colorado Farm Bureau, Centennial, CO
Joe Harrington, Vice President Business and Strategic Development, Alexco Environmental Group , Centennial, CO 
Joseph N. Ryan, Professor, AirWaterGas Sustainability Research Network, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO
Larry Ross, Elbert County Commissioner, Kiowa, CO
Sean Conway, Weld County Commissioner, Greeley, CO 
Julio Iturreria, Long Range Planning Program Manager, Arapahoe County, Centennial, CO
Mary Hodge, Senator, Colorado State Senate District 25, Adams County, CO
Steve Humphrey, State Representative House District 48, Severance, CO
Vicki Marble, Senator, Colorado Senate District 23, Fort Collins, CO
John Cooke, Senator, Colorado Senate District 13, Weld County, CO
Larry Crowder, Senator, Colorado Senate District 35, Alamosa, CO